NTHF announces 2014 induction class

Five teachers from across America have learned they will be inducted into the National Teachers Hall of Fame.

Two Kansas teachers will be inducted -- Shawnee Mission South High School science teacher Jan Alderson and Cindy Couchman, a math teacher from Buhler High School math teacher. Couchman said students were high-fiving her afterward.

{wbty_audio audio_id="3229" audio_title="Couchman: Credit to students"}

They will be joined by three teachers from across the country:

*Marguerite Izzo, a fifth-grade English and language arts and social studies teacher from Lynnbrook, N.Y.
*Gary Koppelman, a fifth-grade math, science and writing teacher from Blissfield, Mich.
*Dr. Rebecca Palacios, a retired dual language elementary teacher from Corpus Christi, Texas.

All five inductees will travel to Washington, D.C., for one round of induction activities in early May. They will then travel to Emporia for the actual inductions and other activities June 11-14.

The Teachers Hall of Fame was formed in 1989 to honor the nation's best teachers and the teaching profession. The first induction ceremonies were held in 1992. One hundred ten educators from 37 states and the District of Columbia have been honored.

earl and stelouise sidebar

See what is happening with KVOE